Louisiana law mandates that every employer must adopt, implement, and maintain a written smoking policy.
My research shows that any nonsmoking employee may object to his employer about smoke in the workplace. If an objection is placed, the employer must accommodate the non-smoker using already available means of ventilation, separation or partition of office space. However, an employer is not required by law to make any changes that require major expenditures or structural changes to accommodate the preferences of nonsmoking or smoking employees.
I have read that when an employer prohibits smoking in an office workplace, the area in whichsmoking is prohibited must be clearly marked with signs.
If there is a change in smoking policy, it must be announced and posted within three months of adoption to all employees working in office workplaces of the employer, and a written copy of the policy must be posted conspicuously in all office workplaces under the employer’s jurisdiction.
If the workplace is a state, parish, or municipal building where smoking in the office workplace is restricted, an employer may, if allowable under lease provisions and fire or other safety regulations, designate a smoking area in a separate room. Educational and health care facilities are not be required to designate smoking areas. Also exempt are courtrooms, or other areas used by the judicial branch of state government.
I understand that a poster outlining the Louisiana smoking law must be posted in an employer’s place of business.
The District of Columbia Child Labor Laws follow those of the federal government very closely. These laws regulate what kinds of jobs children can hold, how old they need to be to work, and how long and during what times they can work.
I know that children 13 and younger can babysit, deliver newspapers, and participate in acting or performing for tv, radio, stage or movies. 14-15 year olds can work in an office, grocery store, retail store, restaurant, movie theater or amusement park. Also, any teen over 16 can work at any job not declared hazardous.
What’s considered hazardous work for children? The list includes work in mining, logging, meatpacking, roofing, excavation, or demolition. Children can’t drive a car or forklift, work with saws, explosives, radioactive material or most power-driven machines.
I know that children under age 16 may work 5 hours a day/18 hours a week during the school week, and 8 hours a day/40 hours a week during non-school hours. All work must be performed 7am – 7pm except in the summer, where evening hours are extended to 9pm. Over age 16 have no restrictions on their work times and hours.
Employers are required to post child labor posters at their workplace. The District of Columbia Complete Labor Law poster has the child labor laws reflected as well as all of the state, federal, and OSHA requirements. They are also required to post the weekly time sheets of their minor employees in a visible location in their company.
Willful violations may be prosecuted criminally and the violator fined up to $10,000. A second conviction may result in imprisonment. Violators of the child labor provisions are subject to a civil money penalty of up to $10,000 for each employee who was the subject of a violation.