The Illinois labor board offers many tools to those that are interested in learning more about what the agency can do for them. As citizens of the state of Illinois it is our right to know what is happening within the state. If you ever find that you need to know information about what the minimum wage is or what the child labor laws are, the Department of Labor is the place to get that specific information. This organization, which has in place Mr. Art Ludwig as the director, offers many pieces of information and guidance to some of the most important things you can know as an employee or a business owner.
For example, new laws were passed just as recently as June 22, 2006 in relation to the workforce. The Day and Temporary Labor Services Act was revised there as well as the Carnival and Amusement Ride Safety Act revisions were made. If you are interested in those revisions, take a look at the state’s Department of Labor website.
The Department of Labor for the state of Illinois also lets us know how we are doing and provides details about what our laws concerning the workforce are. One thing that many people look for from the labor board of Illinois is that of the minimum wage and the details of child labor laws. For example, those that are ages 18 and up must be paid at a rate of $6.50 per hour whereas those that are below the age of 18 must be paid at least $6.00 per hour. For tipped employees, the minimum wage is that of $3.90 per hour. Did you know that if you work over 40 hours per week that you are entitled to overtime pay? That is in the amount of one and one half of your regular rate of pay for every hour that you work over 40.
There are many more details of the workforce that the Department of Labor is governing over. The Illinois Complete Labor Law poster is available with detailed information regarding all state, federal, as well as OSHA laws. You can also find information from the Illinois labor board about the necessary license and permits that you must have to work.
How much does an employer have to pay its regular employees for business travel? Actually, the State of Alabama does not govern the minimum rate. In fact there is no law that even requires them to pay any set rate for mileage. Most employers do, however reimburse their employees for travel expenses, including mileage.
I, like so many others, wondered how current gas prices would affect these rates. As it turns out, Alabama follows all federal regulations and has no separate wage and hour laws. In fact, the only law with regard to mileage costs became effective August 1, 1992. The law states that employers must pay mileage costs to injured employees for miles traveled to and from medical and rehabilitation providers. The payout needs to be at the same rate as persons traveling on official state business.
As of January 2003, those traveling on official business for the state or any of its departments or agencies would receive a rate per mile in lieu of actual transportation expenses. Officers and employees of the state are entitled to an allowance for mileage from their base station to the destination location and the return or for miles they actually traveled from home to destination and return, whichever is less.
The rate at which mileage is to be paid will be based on the standard rate set by the IRS. As of January 1, 2006 the current rate is $.445 per mile. Though as late as December of 2005, the set price was 48.5 cents per mile. The IRS will adjust the amount in accordance with the current trend in gas pricing, new car costs, and insurance rates.
In conclusion, with the exception of employees of the state, and those who have been injured on the job, there are no set guidelines that employers have to follow to reimburse their employees for mileage put on personal vehicles for business purposes.
I’ve been tracking state minimum wage trends over the past few weeks and learned that California is tentatively planning to increase the minimum wage by $.50 in less than a year. The proposed increase was announced on July 5, 2006, giving employers about six months to prepare their payrolls.
The Wage Board, which is a newly formed organization consisting of thirteen individuals, recommended this increase as a strategic course of action intended to offset the burden of national inflation. The Board itself is comprised of six members that represent employers, six members that represent workers and a non-partisan and non-voting chairman. The Board was also formed by the Industrial Welfare Commission (IWC) to take on the task of creating a recommendation. The IWC, California Labor Federation and the State all back the Board’s decision.
California is one of four states that are dramatically increasing their minimum wages over the next 6-18 months, citing inflation as the catalyst for the increases. The other states considering the increases are Florida, Oregon and Washington.
The decision to make the $.50 jump, however, is not yet final. There are two hurdles to get through before the final decision:
First, the Board will meet next month on August 4 to discuss the first draft of the recommendation. The Board will then submit a revised recommendation (if needed) following that meeting. Next, the IWC will hold three statewide public hearings in an effort to gain feedback and support among residents.
The last step is a vote, which must be taken by October 31, 2006. The expectation at this point is that the IWC will recommend that the $.50 increase will go into effect on January 1, 2007. The current minimum wage is $6.75. The new minimum wage would be $7.25 per hour. Additionally, a subsequent $.50 increase is expected to take place the following year on January 1, 2008 if this recommendation is accepted.
We are all aware that we must post the labor laws for any business with one or more full time employees but what some of you may not know is that there are certain other safety posters that should be posted within many workplaces. Restaurants are one main facility that is required to post several different safety and health postings other than the basic labor laws. These are including but not limited to hand washing, food handling and preparation as well as the newly mandatory choking poster.
Previously restaurants had not been mandated to post anything regarding choking. Recently it has been made mandatory to post a choking poster for your restaurant to be considered in compliance.
I know it is recommended that fire extinguisher information be posted in areas where electrical or fire related business is being done but it also good to have around just in case no matter what your work may entail. I just recently learned that CPR techniques are not only recommended for swimming areas or doctors offices. I have been told they are especially useful at daycares, shopping centers, and I even saw one at my local salon. Keeping this information at the ready with a detailed illustrated poster I would guess is a great way to help in an emergency situation until help arrives.
For me I feel better when I am prepared. I like to have more than enough information rather than too little. I would imagine that most businesses whether long standing or just starting out would also want to be as prepared as possible. By posting highly recommended information it protects not only the employee but also the employer.
www.LaborLawCenter.com supplies many safety products including a Safety Poster Set. It is a three piece poster set that includes the mandatory Choking poster, CPR, and also the Fire Extinguisher posters.
Safety Compliance Advisor
The Alabama labor board has a very important position within the state. As you know, the labor board handles many laws that have to do with the workers of the state. With that said, it is important to realize the various types of protection that they provide to us, the good people of Alabama. Currently, Jim Bennett is the Commissioner of the Department of Labor for the state. The labor board consists of a wide range of people all dedicated to serving those that work within the state.
Some of the most common things that the Alabama labor board handles include regulating virtually all jobs within the state. They work with various unions most of which are rather small with 25 or less members. Here, they help by providing mediation services and help provide representation elections for those unions. The Department also helps in providing information to the common citizen about illnesses that are related to the workforce, injury as well as fatality reports that are related to the workforce as well as providing a wealth of information about the actual laws in place.
Currently, the Alabama labor board is enforcing the labor laws that include minimum wage which is set at $5.15 per hour. They also provide for the child labor laws that are set in place for the state limiting what children under the age of 18 can and can not do in relation to working. OSHA laws and reports can be found at the website of the Department of Labor and are closely monitored by the Alabama labor board. All of the most current labor laws regarding Alabama can be found in detail on the Alabama Complete Labor Law poster.
Finally, it is nice to know for those that are living in Alabama that our unemployment rate is at 3.6% which is a whole percent lower than the United States average unemployment rate which is currently at 4.6%, as of June of 2006.