In my research of state labor laws, I have learned that Oregon has a very thorough state code in this area, covering numerous topics from wage payment laws to human rights laws to workers’ compensation. Here’s a quick overview of some of what I’ve learned about Oregon labor laws:
When it comes to wage payment laws, Oregon currently has one of the highest minimum wages in the country at $7.50 per hour. No training wages or tip credits are allowed under Oregon’s labor laws. The minimum wage law applies to minors and adults alike. Employers in the state must have regular paydays, which may not be more than 35 days apart. Employees who are separated from their jobs are due their paychecks at various intervals depending on the circumstances. Employees who quit with less than 48 hours notice must be paid within five business days, while employees who give more than 48 hours notice must be paid on their final day of work. When an employee is involuntarily discharged, the final paycheck is due by the end of the next business day.
Oregon labor laws also provide for meals and rest breaks for employees. Most employees in Oregon must be provided a 30 minute unpaid, uninterrupted meal break if they have worked six hours or more continuously. A paid 10 minute rest break must also be provided for each four hours and employee has worked. Some supervisory, administrative and professional workers are not subject to these rules.
I think it is also interesting to note that Oregon has a Family Leave Act that covers additional workers and situations requiring leave than what is covered under the Federal Family and Medical leave act. The Oregon law covers all employers with 25 or more employees, and is applicable to employees who have worked at least 180 days. Up to 12 weeks of leave may be taken for the birth or adoption of a child, to care for a family member with a serious illness, to deal with a serious illness personally, for pregnancy disability or prenatal care, or to care for a child who requires home care. Employees must be able to return to their former job or an equivalent after taking this type of leave.
These are just a few highlights of the Oregon labor laws. For a more thorough listing of the state and federal laws on this topic, please refer to the Oregon Complete Labor Law Poster.
Last 10 posts by Sarah
- Our New Community For HR Professionals, www.HumanResourceBlog.com Is Now Available - July 31st, 2007
- South Dakota Labor Laws - August 24th, 2006
- Labor Law Regulations in South Dakota (SD) - August 24th, 2006
- Rhode Island Labor Law Regulations - August 24th, 2006
- State of Pennsylvania Labor Laws - August 24th, 2006
- Labor Law Requirements in Oklahoma - August 23rd, 2006
- Labor Laws Governing Ohio - August 23rd, 2006
- Employer Regulatory Requirements in North Dakota - August 23rd, 2006
- State Labor Laws Governing North Carolina - August 18th, 2006
- New Jersey State Labor Law Requirements - August 18th, 2006