The law in New Hampshire against discrimination says that it is illegal for employers to discriminate because of age, sex, race, marital status, disability, color, religion, national origin, or sexual orientation. Pregnant women are protected by the discrimination law. The employer must allow a pregnant woman to take time of if she has any sort of pregnancy related illness. They also must reinstate the woman to her job after the baby is born.
If you feel your rights have been violated, you can file a discrimination lawsuit one of two ways. You can file it with the New Hampshire Commission for Human Rights, or with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, which is a federal agency. Whichever one you file your suit with will share the case with the other, so you do not file with both agencies.
I am sure you would be relieved if your case were successfully taken care of by the administrative agency. In this case, you can avoid actually filing a lawsuit, and it would be preferable if this turned out to be the way you went. If you do not get a satisfactory resolution, you probably should follow through with the filing of a lawsuit. You must wait until your case has been pending with the NHCHR for a total of 180 days before you can request the right-to-sue notice and proceed with your state claim. The statute of limitations based on your state claim is three years; in other words, from the day that you are claiming the discrimination occurred, you have three years to file a lawsuit. After that period of time, you may not be eligible to file a suit.
I hope this makes the New Hampshire Discrimination Notice a little clearer. This law is part of the series of laws that all should be posted in your place of employment.
Nebraska’s child labor laws are designed to protect the educational opportunities of minors and keep them from being employed in jobs and under conditions that are detrimental to their health or well-being.
In looking at Nebraska’s laws on child labor, I think it is interesting to see that Nebraska, like many states, does place additional restrictions on 16 and 17 year olds above what is found in federal law. Like many states, Nebraska requires minors to obtain a employment certificate. Employers must keep the certificate on file for any minors they may hire, and return it to the child when they leave. The certificate is validated by the school official and must include proof of the child’s birth date.
I noticed that Nebraska law allows for two exemptions on the employment certificate. The first is for children who work on a golf course as a golf caddy. The second is for children who work for their parents, although they are still bound by the rules about how many hours they can work and they type of employment they can accept.
In reviewing the work hour restrictions placed on 14 and 15 year olds, I found that Nebraska’s law is very much like the Federal law. During times school is in session, minors of this age may not work during school hours. They can only work until 10 p.m., unless school is not being held the next day.
Nebraska’s laws restrict working hours for children under sixteen. They may not work more than 48 hours in a week, nor more than 8 hours in a day. Children are not permitted to work before 6 a.m., and children under 14 cannot work after 8 p.m. These rules include children who are performing detasseling, and children under 12 are not permitted to be hired for detasseling.
Unemployment Insurance is carried by employers so that workers can receive benefits if they become unemployed. In order to qualify for those benefits, you must have been employed for a period of time called the base period, and you must have earned a minimum amount of earnings over the past year. You must have become unemployed through non fault of your own. You must keep the state unemployment office informed of any work or offers to work that you’ve received, and file additional claims that they require.
Most people know that unemployment insurance exists, but some don’t know about this: If you’re employed in the state of North Carolina and your work load decreases—say for example you were scheduled to work a full week, but there was no work available so you worked less than 3 days—you may be eligible to receive unemployment insurance benefits. Your employer has to fill out a certain form, and you send it to the Employment Security Commission.
Your unemployment benefits can vary from $36 per week up to $426 per week. If you have received unemployment benefits in other states, you may find that the amount of your benefits differ from the previous amount. That is because every state creates its own guidelines for determining the amount of your benefits.
Employers have many responsibilities that pertain to the North Carolina Unemployment Insurance law, and I can only touch on them a little here in the blog. Employers must report all payments made; they have to file quarterly reports that tell about each employee’s wages. They are also required by law to notify the North Carolina Employment Security Law and Commission whenever there are changes to the company, like a change in address or business activity, closing the business, or selling it to someone else.
If you’re a Wyoming employer, it is up to you to make sure your company tracks the changes to employment labor laws and the corresponding Wyoming (WY) Employment Labor Posters. This can be time consuming and costly, but the alternative is that you are not in compliance with the law. Non compliance can bring on fines and citations.
It is also up to you to make sure the posters are not altered, either by being torn or by someone marking them up, and to make sure that people can see them. This means first posting them in places that your employees visit often, then checking from time to time to be sure the posters are not covered up by other materials. Sometimes they are removed by employees who don’t realize their importance, and that’s not acceptable either.
You probably are already aware of the employment labor laws that you have to post, but I’m going to go over them in this blog today in case any have been added since the last time you checked. Some of them may also have changed. Folks, I promise you that the easiest way to ensure that your company is both current and compliant is by checking back with us often, as we try to make you aware of changes as soon as they occur.
The Wyoming (WY) Employment Labor Posters that are required by law to be displayed in the workplace are: OSHA – Health and Safety Protection, Workers’ Compensation, Discrimination Notice, Minimum Wage Law, and the Unemployment Insurance Notice.
There are also Federal labor law posters that are required to be placed in view of all employees. They are:
Equal Employment Opportunity is the Law
OSHA – Job Safety and Health Protection
Employee Polygraph Protection Act
Federal Minimum Wage
Family and Medical Leave Act
USERRA – Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Act
I noticed recently that the state of Wisconsin has a new minimum wage rate. Many of the states are changing their rates, if only because they’ve been at the same rate for so long and it hasn’t kept up with the cost of living. The new Wisconsin minimum wage took effect in April of 2006, and the rate will now be $6.50 per hour.
This means that you need to update your Wisconsin (WI) Employment Labor Posters, if you haven’t already, to reflect the change. In fact, any time a change is made to the employment labor posters that you are required to display, you must immediately update the related poster.
By posting the laws on the wall, you are letting your employees know that you are serious about compliance. You’re making your work environment safer for everyone, and you’re letting them know when a violation of the laws may have occurred, and what steps they can take to safeguard against a violation ever occurring again. Displaying the laws serves as a reminder to all employees and helps to educate them in the ways of employment labor laws.
Anyway, I’ll just go over the posting requirements here in my blog today in case there are any questions or discrepancies. Wisconsin (WI) Employment Labor Posters that are required to be posted in a conspicuous location in your place of business are: Business Closing/Mass Layoff Law, Family/Medical Leave Act, Discrimination Notice, OSHA-Health and Safety Protection, Unemployment Insurance, Child Labor law, Right-To-Know, and Honesty Testing.
There are also Federal labor law posters that are required to be placed in view of all employees. They are: Equal Employment Opportunity is the Law, OSHA – Job Safety and Health Protection, Employee Polygraph Protection Act, Federal Minimum Wage Law, the Family and Medical Leave Act, and
USERRA – Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Act.