HR professionals or owners are faced with my conflicting HR questions or situations everyday and how to solve the issues can vary depending on who you ask. Many business owners or HR professionals often ponder the same question, “Is there an agency or source where I can go to get guidance or assistance on these HR issues?”. Well now there is a solution! www.HumanResourceBlog.com is now available for any HR professional to come and share their thoughts, questions, or issues and to openly discuss the situation or issue at hand. Where else would you be able to go to find a community or center that has professionals sharing your same common problems and also having suggestions for you to possibly consider. Like they say, two brains is better than one. In this particular case, it’s two professionals better than one!
www.HumanResourceBlog.com has a goal to build a community strictly for HR professionals all across the states to be able to post and receive answers from actual professionals in the same situation or have the knowledge to possibly guide you to answer. State laws vary from state to state. If your organization operates in multi-states, this is the place for you. www.HumanResourceBlog.com does not limit the answer to any particular state or topic. It does not have boundaries and/or limitations in the state the question is deriving from. If you are seeking an answer to your HR question, www.HumanResourceblog.com will be the solution!
Answers are posted daily from Real HR experts that are emailed the questions instantly. There is no automation to the postings of answers. The website is strictly for owners, HR professionals, supervisors and managers to post their HR related issues, questions, or concerns. Post your questions today! The web site is not intended for employees to post employee related questions.
Come join and lets build an HR Community together.
Hope to see you there!
The South Dakota labor laws regulate a number of important aspects of employment in the state. In this blog entry I’ll give an overview of a few of these state laws.
Wages and hours of work are a subject of great interest to many employers and employees alike. South Dakota currently has its minimum wage set the same as the federal minimum wage of $5.15 per hour. Tipped employees may be paid an hourly wage of $2.13, but their total earnings per hour with tips must at least meet the minimum wage. South Dakota labor laws require workers in the state to be paid at least monthly. Employees who quit their jobs or whose employment is terminated must be paid by the next regular payday.
Unlike a number of states, minors in South Dakota are not required to obtain any type of work permit to hold a job. The South Dakota labor laws do set out a variety of regulations, primarily for 14 and 15 year old employees. Minors under 16 are prohibited from working in a variety of hazardous situations, and are also limited in the number of hours they can work in a given day or week. For minors ages 16 and 17, the only regulations are limits on hazardous occupations.
Workers’ compensation and unemployment compensation are another important section of the South Dakota Labor Laws. The unemployment insurance and compensation program is designed to financially help workers who involuntarily lose their lobs, while the workers’ compensation program helps workers who are injured on the job.
South Dakota labor laws make it illegal to force employees to join a union. Potential employees may also not be denied employment based on their membership or non-membership in a union. Coercion and intimidation in regards to union support or membership is also illegal. There are also laws on the books related to collective bargaining and other aspects of labor disputes.
The South Dakota Complete Labor Law poster provides a helpful and up-to-date listing of all the relevant state and federal laws on this topic.
My research on the labor laws of various states shows that South Carolina has a shorter list of laws on this topic than some states. The South Carolina labor laws do, however, cover several key topics.
When it comes to the payment of wages, any employer in the state with more than five employees must provide written notification to employees of their rate of pay and what deductions will come out of their paychecks. There are no specific state laws in regards to minimum wage, and benefits such as lunch breaks, heath insurance, sick leave, and vacation are not required by law. South Carolina labor laws do not mandate a certain frequency at which employees must be paid. However, employees who are separated from their jobs must be paid either within 48 hours or at the next regular payday.
Unlike some states, South Carolina labor laws do not require minors to get a work permit. Minors ages 14 and 15 must only provide proof of age to their employer. The work hours and types of work for minors under 16 are closely regulated under state laws, but 16 and 17 year old minors are only prohibited from working jobs on the federal hazardous occupations list.
South Carolina is one of a number of states that administers its own occupational safety and health program. The South Carolina Occupational Safety and Health Administration carries out enforcement of a variety of standards designed to maintain a safe, healthful and hazard-free workplace. Standards exist to regulate many types of workplaces hazards. Employers may be inspected and fined if they do not meet these standards.
As in most states, South Carolina labor laws provide for workers’ compensation and unemployment insurance programs. Workers’ compensation is designed to help pay the medical bills as well as some lost wages for workers who are injured on the job. Unemployment compensation, however, is designed to give financial assistance to workers who involuntarily lose their jobs.
For a helpful listing of all the relevant state and federal laws on this topic, please see the South Carolina Complete Labor Law Poster.
Recently, I’ve been researching the labor laws of various states. If Rhode Island is where you work, you might want to check out this overview of some of the labor laws that may apply to you:
Rhode Island is one of a number of states with a minimum wage significantly higher than the federal minimum wage. Employees in the state must currently be paid $7.10 per hour, and this will increase to $7.40 per hour after January 1st of 2007. Employees who receive tips may be paid $2.89 per hour, but their total hourly earnings including tips must meet or exceed the current minimum wage. Another exception to this law is 14 and 15 year old minors. If they work less than 24 hours per week, the Rhode Island labor laws state they may be paid 75% of the current minimum wage standard.
If you are an hourly employee, the Rhode Island labor laws state that you should be paid on a weekly basis. Employees of the state and employees of religious or charitable organizations are exempt from this rule. Salaried employees need only be paid on a regular basis. When an employee is separated from his or her job, he or she must be paid on the next regular payday. If the employee has worked for the company at least a year or more and has accrued vacation time, this must also be paid out on the last paycheck.
Rhode Island labor laws guarantee that employees may not be forced to join a union, nor may they be denied employment based on their membership or non-membership in a union. In general, there may be no discrimination of any kind based on union or non-union status. There are also laws on the books related to collective bargaining and other aspects of labor disputes.
Child labor laws are another interesting section of the Rhode Island labor laws. Minors ages 14 and 15 who wish to work in the state must get a work permit, while 16 and 17 year old minors only need a “proof of age” certificate. The Rhode Island laws also regulate the hours that minors of various ages may work, and prohibit them from engaging in certain dangerous occupations.
These are just a few examples of the many regulations found in the Rhode Island labor laws. For a more thorough listing, please see the Rhode Island Complete Labor Law Poster. This poster contains the relevant Federal labor laws as well.
I find that employers and employees alike are often interested in knowing more about the labor laws that may apply to them. If you live or work in Pennsylvania, here’s a quick overview of a few of the labor laws in your state:
When it comes to laws about payment of wages, there are a number of regulations. The minimum wage in Pennsylvania is automatically tied to the federal minimum wage, so it’s currently $5.15 per hour. If at some point Congress raises the federal minimum wage, the Pennsylvania wage will go up along with it. Under the Pennsylvania labor law, wages must be paid on a regular basis, but there is no particular mandatory maximum length between paydays. Employees who are separated from their jobs for any reason must be paid by the next regular payday.
Child labor regulations are another important part of the Pennsylvania labor laws. Minors under 18 must obtain an employment certificate in order to work in the state. The hours of employment and types of work that may be performed are regulated separately for minors under 16, and 16 and 17 year old minors. A special permit is required for minors who are involved in motion picture or theatrical performance work. A meal break of 30 minutes is also required for all minors working five or more consecutive hours.
Pennsylvania workers should be glad to know that they are covered by a variety of occupational safety and health statutes. The Pennsylvania labor laws contain a variety of standards designed to maintain a safe, healthful and hazard-free workplace. Standards exist to regulate all kinds of workplace hazards, from hazardous chemicals to ladders and power equipment. Employers may be inspected and fined if they do not meet these standards.
These are just a few of the many topics covered under the Pennsylvania labor laws. Other areas of the law include workers’ compensation, unemployment insurance, prevailing wages for employees on public works construction projects, the licensing of employment agencies, and more. For a thorough and up-to-date listing of all the state and federal labor laws, check out the Pennsylvania Complete Labor Law Poster.