Rather than rushing around to various poster stores, you can easily get all your Colorado labor law posters from a single online source. Our high-quality laminated posters and unmatchable services will help save a lot of time, effort, and money while ensuring compliance at the same time.
It is mandatory to display the Colorado labor law poster at a prominent location at your workplace. Our space-saving poster has all required notices strategically placed in a single poster for convenience. This poster is laminated on both sides and printed in full color to provide for durability, ease of use, and legibility.
Our 20.5 inch x 28.5 inch poster can be viewed by all your employees and can prevent costly lawsuits in the future as well as heavy penalties due to non-compliance. The Colorado labor law poster contains various important notices including Workers’ Compensation, Payday Notice, Unemployment Insurance, Discrimination Notice, and the 2013 Minimum Wage Poster.
Furthermore, the state of Colorado also requires you to confirm the legal work status of each employee on your payroll. You can use our Colorado affirmation form that adheres to the revised Statute 8-2-122. This form contains a detailed checklist to make sure that you remain compliant with all requirements of the revised Statute. You are required by Colorado law to check and authenticate the legal work status of all your employees and our affirmation form makes your work a lot easier.
An initial fine of $5,000 for first-time offenders and $25,000 for repeat offences should be motivation enough for you to make sure that you use the Colorado affirmation form within 20 days of hiring any employee. We offer these forms in convenient packs of 25 with each form measuring 8.5 inches by 11 inches.
In addition to all required Colorado labor law posters, we offer several other products including Colorado State legal forms, forklift posters, choking posters, and OSHA safety forms. We also provide federal law posters and a wide range of safety kits, workplace DVDs/videos, employee gifts, awards, and cards, and placards to ensure safety as well as raise motivation levels at your workplace.
There are several state and federal laws that need to be complied with once you start a business in the state of Colorado. You need not end up with bad quality or outdated posters since our website www.laborlawcenter.com offers and delivers updated and top-quality Colorado labor law posters right at your doorstep with just a few clicks.
All businesses in Colorado need to prominently display many state and federal law posters at the workplace. Failure to do so can result in heavy penalties and lawsuits too. In addition to various federal labor law posters, we at www.laborlawcenter.com offer a single Colorado labor law poster that includes several posters and notices within it.
Our labor law posters feature double-sided lamination for long life along with sharp color-printing for easy viewing. For instance, our Colorado labor law posters measure 24 inches by 39 inches and include many notices such as Workers Compensation Part 1 and Part 2, Discrimination Notice, Payday Notice, Unemployment Insurance, and the 2013 Minimum Wage Poster.
This poster has to be posted at a convenient and prominent location at your workplace so that all your employees can view it. Additionally, we also offer the mandatory federal labor law poster that measures 20 inches by 26 inches and which can be displayed next to our Colorado labor law poster at your workplace.
Our online store also offers all related business products such as legal forms, safety DVDs/CDs, safety signs/placards, motivational awards/cards, poster clips/accessories, and OSHA compliance tools along with our wide range of posters.
One thing to consider is that your Colorado business might also need our Colorado affirmation form. This mandatory form is required to check the legal work status of all your employees as per the Colorado Revised Statute 8-2-122. You will need to ensure that all submitted documents for verification are authentic and retain copies of the required documents to ensure compliance with this statute.
The Colorado affirmation form must be completed within 20 days of hiring a new employee. Penalties for ignoring this statute can start from $5,000 for the first time and $25,000 for each repeat offence. You just cannot ignore this form and a few clicks are all that are needed to order this crucial form from our online store. This form is available in packs of 25 forms that each measure 8.5 inches by 11 inches.
Your Colorado business can function smoothly only when you remain compliant with all state and federal laws. These laws include displaying the Colorado labor law poster along with the federal labor law poster at your workplace. In addition, you also need to fill up several mandatory forms including the Colorado affirmation form to avoid business-crippling penalties and lawsuits.
So, visit our website www.laborlawcenter.com to safeguard your Colorado business with appropriate posters, notices, and forms. You can also allow us to ensure complete compliance with our trademarked Compliance Protection Plan.
Now is the time for every employer to update his or her 2008 Colorado labor law posters.
The past year was a hectic one in the field of Human Resources, with a number of important changes to labor law. These include a new I-9 form to be used by all employers effective December 26, 2008. Employers who fail to use the new I-9 form, or display the updated posters, face hefty fines and penalties.
In addition, the Colorado minimum wage will increase on January 1, 2008 to $7.02, requiring every employer in the state to update their posters.
The updated list of 2008 Colorado labor law posters is:
- Workers’ Compensation Part 1 & Part 2
- Discrimination Notice
- PayDay Notice
- Unemployment Insurance
- Minimum Wage Poster
Every employer in the state is required by law to display these posters where applicants and employees can see them.
In addition, each employer in Colorado must display the following federal labor law posters:
- USERRA – Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act
- Equal Employment Opportunity is the Law
- Federal Minimum Wage
- Employee Polygraph Protection Act
- Family and Medical Leave Act
- OSHA-Job Safety & Health Protection
Under both federal and state law, these posters must be updated each time there is a change in legislation.
A change in the federal minimum wage on July 24, 2007 required that the Federal Minimum Wage posters be updated. On that date, the federal minimum wage increased for the first time in more than a decade. The rate went from $5.15 per hour to $5.85 per hour, an increase of 70 cents.
Labor law poster serve as a handy reminder for supervisors and employees alike.
They provide important information on the minimum wage, worker safety, medical leave and child labor laws.
It seems as if no two states in the U.S. are alike when it comes to overtime laws or the minimum wage for tipped employees. That’s why the states require different state labor law posters, in addition to the federal posters.
In both cases, some have no laws, and follow federal law. Some are more generous. On rare occasions, they are less so.
Federal law requires workers be paid an overtime rate of 1.5 times their normal hourly wage for any hour over 40. Florida, Georgia, Arizona, Delaware, and Idaho have no overtime laws. Federal law is operable.
Nebraska mirrors the 40-hour federal rule, but extends it to all businesses with 4 or more workers. Others mirroring the 40-hour guide are Massachusetts, Michigan, and Illinois.
Overtime does not kick in until after 46 hours in Kansas, or 48 hours in Minnesota.
In Kentucky, workers get overtime after 40 hours and on the 7th consecutive workday regardless of the number of hours put in on that day. Colorado employees receive overtime after a 40-hour week or a 12-hour day.
California workers can get overtime for more than 8 hours in a day, 40 hours in a week, or the 7th day of 7 consecutive days.
The federal minimum wage rate for tipped workers is now $2.13 an hour. Some states follow the federal rate. Among them are Kentucky, Indiana, and Nebraska, which also set the rate at $2.13.
Other states offer just a little more than the federal rate. For example, Wisconsin is $2.33 an hour, North Carolina is $2.43, Michigan is $2.65 and Massachusetts is $2.63.
Kansas, on the other hand, is lower than the federal rate. Its minimum wage for tipped workers is only $1.59 an hour.
Essentially, employers are getting “tip credits,” or the right to offer a lower than normal minimum wage because the workers in these fields receive tips which are supposed to compensate.
We’re back at it—looking at the state based labor law and compliance posters. We took a minor detour there for a while to at some of the mandatory federal postings, and at some of the optional posters such as first aid and safety posters. Now we’re back on the state based posters, though, which may be the most important topic on this blog for employers.
Let’s start with the Colorado Labor Law Posters. The Colorado Labor Law Posters contain the same six federal postings that we’ve looked at in detail in the last few days of entries. And you thought you were completely getting away from the federal posters! Well, the truth of the matter is that Colorado Labor Law Posters and other state posters contain federal posters.
These federal postings at the minimum number six. Those six include the USERRA posting for employees who have to serve with the armed services; the federal minimum wage posting ($5.15); the polygraph protection act posting that explains employee’s rights when it comes to lie detector tests; the Family and Medical Leave Act posting for unpaid time off; the Equal Employment Opportunity posting; and the OSHA posting for workplace safety and employee health issues.
We’ve looked at those six in detail, so let’s move on to the state postings in the Colorado Labor Law Posters. There are five of these in the Colorado Labor Law Posters, including the discrimination notice, two workers’ compensation posting, a pay day notice, and unemployment insurance posting, and the minimum wage posting.
As with other state postings, all eleven of the postings in the Colorado Labor Law Posters must be located in the same place in a work site, and that place must be easy to find and access for employees. After all, these posters are for the employees’ education and training, and to help protect their rights.
The Attorney General has primary authority for enforcement of consumer protection and antitrust laws, prosecution of criminal appeals and some complex white-collar crimes, the Statewide Grand Jury, training and certification of peace officers, and certain natural resource and environmental matters, employees through legal counsel and employee training to state agencies and employees on personnel and employment law matters, including issues involving workplace violence, Title VII, Americans with Disabilities Act, Age Discrimination in Employment Act, Fair Labor Standards Act, Family Medical Leave Act, alcohol and drug testing, retaliation, whistleblowing, and breach of employment contracts. These different employment matters have Colorado State posters that are required to be posted in the workplace.
Additionally, it defends the state and its agencies in lawsuits involving personnel and employment issues brought before state and federal courts and the State Personnel Board, represents and advises the Colorado Civil Rights Division in the investigation of civil rights claims and prosecutes claims on behalf of the Civil Rights Commission. Employees can read about filing a claim on the Colorado State posters.
The Colorado Civil Rights Division, together with the Colorado Civil Rights Commission, is the state agency established in 1957 to administer and enforce Colorado’s antidiscrimination laws in employment, housing and public accommodations. The agency’s mission is: To assure that all Coloradoans are afforded the equal protection of the law.
The Division staff serves Colorado citizens, public and private employers of all sizes, housing providers, and communities across the state by:
1. Investigating complaints of discrimination
2. Performing intake and conducting appropriate dispute resolution, including mediation and settlement negotiations
3. Issuing determinations as to whether there is probable cause to believe that illegal discrimination has occurred
4. Conducting outreach and education on laws and issues regarding civil rights to ensure compliance.
Colorado law prohibits discrimination in employment, housing, public accommodations, and advertising based on:
• National Origin
• Disability (Mental and Physical)
• Familial Status (Housing Only)
• Marital Status (Housing and Public Accommodations Only)
• Marriage to a co-worker (Employment Only)
• Age (Employment Only)