Even more shocking, 93% of those killed at work were male according to the Kansas Department of Labor. Of the total 85 fatalities, 79 were male. Only 7% of the workplace fatalities, or 6 individuals killed, were female.
Every Kansas employer needs to understand that in 2007 a number of changes to the labor laws were made. In 2007, for the first time in ten years, the federal minimum wage was increased from $5.15 to $5.85 per hour as a result of the Fair Minimum Wage Act of 2007. At least ten states increased their state minimum wage on the same day.
Another increase will occur on July 24, 2008, raising the federal minimum wage from $5.85 to $6.55 per hour. Again, the states that tie their minimum wage to the federal rate will bump their state minimum wages, too.
The 2008 Kansas labor law posters required by state law are:
Kansas Child Labor
In addition, federal law requires every employer in the nation to display a number of posters. These include:
Employee Polygraph Protection Act
Family and Medical Leave Act
OSHA-Job Safety & Health Protection
USERRA – Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act
Equal Employment Opportunity is the Law
Federal Minimum Wage
2007 also saw other changes that required employers to update their labor law posters. Employers in Ohio had to post new no-smoking signs at all entrances as a result of the establishment of tough new ban on smoking in the workplace.
Washington, Oregon, Texas and several other states raised their state minimum wages in 2007.
A change was enacted in Alaska to the state Child Labor Laws regarding the selling of cigarettes. It was already illegal for anyone under the age of 19 to buy cigarettes. This change in the law also made it illegal for anyone under the age of 19 to sell cigarettes. The change resulted from the fear that teens working in gas stations or convenience stores were selling cigarettes to their underage friends.
The New Year will bring more changes which will require employers to change labor law posters. Restaurants, bars and casinos and practically every other work environment in Illinois will enact a tough new law banning smoking.
As a result of these changes, companies need to take the time to update their labor law posters by the end of this year. Failure to update the posters with the new information can result in a fine for the employer.
More than a dozen states will increase their minimum wages on January 1, 2008. These include Delaware, Oregon, Washington, California, Florida, Iowa, New Mexico, Massachusetts, Vermont, Colorado, Arizona, Missouri, Montanan and Ohio. The lowest rate to be increased is in Montana, where the state minimum wage will increase from $6.15 per hour to $6.26. In Missouri and New Mexico, the state rate will go to $6.50.
One of the major changes during 2007 related to minimum wage. The federal minimum wage, as a result of the Fair Minimum Wage Act of 2007, went from $5.15 to $5.85 per hour. Nearly a dozen states increased their minimum wage on the same day.
Also, during the 2007, several other states, including Utah, Washington, Oregon, and West Virginia increased their state minimum wage. Both state and federal law require that every employer prominently display the posters in an area where they can been seen by every employee. Popular locations are a bulletin board, near the time clock or in the break room.
The most common reason for employers to update posters includes statute changes, especially to minimum wage laws. In just the past few months, employers in New Hampshire, Nevada and Maine have updated their labor law posters as the state minimum wages changed. The most recent increase was on October 1, 2007 when the New Hampshire minimum wage increased to $6.50 per hour.
According to the Kansas State poster talking about labor laws, the minimum wage in Kansas is only $2.65 per hour!!! This means that if you employer is not bound by the Federal Fair Labor Standard Act stating the Federal minimum wage of $5.15 per hour, your employee only has to pay $2.65 per hour. Contact Federal Wage and Hour at (913) 551-5721 to inquire about coverage whether your company is covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act.
The Kansas State poster also states that your employer must pay you at least once a month. Your employer must pay on regular paydays and inform you of paydays in advance. Additionally, your employer can change your pay, both by increasing or decreasing your hourly wage, but they must give you notice before they do it. Your employer cannot change your rate of pay retroactively. They also have to pay you for all hours worked as long as your work was authorized or your employer accepts the benefit of your work. Additionally, your employer can pay you in cash, but they are still required to withhold taxes. Your employer is not required to put anything on your pay stub. However, if you request it, your employer must provide you with an itemized statement of deductions for each pay period.
Some employees have been told that they have to participate in a direct deposit program or they cannot be paid. Unless you work for the federal government, your employer cannot make you participate in direct deposit. However, many employees find it is more convenient to be paid through direct deposit.
Your employer cannot hold your paycheck until you return your uniforms, tools, or other equipment. Nor can your employer take money out of your wages to cover cash register shortages or damages to equipment or property. You can be fired for these things, but your wages cannot be garnished.
I was looking over the Kansas ( KS ) Employment Labor Posters the other day. If you aren’t familiar with those, the Kansas Labor Posters are required by the state’s department of labor. They have to be posted in every place of employment in Kansas in a very conspicuous location. The purpose of the posters is to advise and inform workers about various aspects of labor law.
I think that labor laws are something that the average worker, like me, doesn’t really think about until something happens. Then you aren’t always sure what you should do. By reading the posters and becoming familiar with the laws, you will be informed. You’ll know exactly what a violation of the labor law is, and you’ll know how you should go about addressing it to instigate change in your work environment.
The Kansas (KS) Employment Labor Poster for Unemployment Insurance has just undergone a change, so if you are an employer and you’re still using the 2005 posters you may want to update them. In addition to Unemployment Insurance, in Kansas you have to post the Discrimination Notice, Child Labor, and Workers’ Compensation posters.
Besides the Kansas employment labor posters, there are several Federal posting requirements. These include the following posters: USERRA – Uniformed Services Employment and Reemployment Rights Act, Equal Employment Opportunity is the Law, Federal Minimum Wage, Employee Polygraph Protection Act, Family and Medical Leave Act, and OSHA-Job Safety & Health Protection.
It’s important that employers update their Kansas Labor Law Posters as the state launches a new campaign to catch minimum wage violators. Gov. Sebelius recently announced a new campaign to ensure fairness for Kansas workers and businesses.
Employers should realize that by not prominently displaying the Kansas labor Law Posters, they are in violation of the law. They may be subject to fines up to $7,500 depending upon the state. Under the new initiative, State agencies will cooperate to prevent misclassification of workers.
The new initiative targets employers who unfairly classify employees as independent contractors, to avoid minimum wage laws. “The vast majority of businesses and workers are playing by the rules, and they shouldn’t foot the bill for the few employers who do evade the law. Cracking down on law-breakers and educating them about the consequences of misclassifying workers will benefit those who are following the law,” said Sebelius.
Both workers and businesses are winners when employees are properly classified, which is why Kansas is launching a public education campaign this month designed to prevent the misclassification of workers as independent contractors.
Governor Kathleen Sebelius says the campaign will be a joint effort of the Kansas Department of Revenue and Kansas Department of Labor and is designed to benefit law-abiding employers and employees.
Worker misclassification occurs when an employer incorrectly classifies workers as independent contractors rather than employees. Consequently, employers may not make appropriate withholdings or tax payments for their employees. This shifts the burden onto law-abiding businesses and workers, which is why intentional misclassification of workers is illegal and constitutes tax and insurance evasion.
The 2006 Legislature passed, and Sebelius signed, a bill authorizing a penalty for the intentional misclassification of an employee as an independent contractor to avoid state withholding taxes or unemployment insurance taxes. The bill, HB 2772, also authorizes the Department of Revenue and the Department of Labor to share information on those suspected of intentionally misclassifying employees.