There are specific labor laws pertaining to child labor that vary from state to state. I found that in the state of Wisconsin, minors are restricted by the time of day they can work and how many hours per week those minors are allowed to work.
Not all minors are treated the same; there are three age classifications within Wisconsin: under 14 years of age, 14-16 years of age and 16-17 years of age. Many of the restrictions are due to the child’s need to be in school. Therefore, if a minor has graduated from high school, then he or she can be employed for the same amount of time as an adult, even if he or she is not yet 18 years of age. Until the date of graduation, no minor can work during normal school hours, even if he or she is not required to be in school.
Also, all minors are required to take at least 30 minutes off of work for a meal break if they work more than 6 consecutive hours. Also, unless a minor is between the ages of 14 and 17 and working in the field of agriculture, it is unlawful for a minor to work more than 6 days in any workweek.
There are exceptions to some of the rules. For example, in general, a minor under the age of 14 is not allowed to work. However, if the minor has parental consent and fills out the proper paperwork, he or she may be entitled to work. Also, there are restrictions as to the types of employment that minors can have. For example, a minor is not allowed to work in construction or with hazardous machinery.
At any time, a minor, employee or parent may file a complaint if he or she believes that a minor is employed illegally.