New 2011 minimum wages for the states are:
Florida and Missouri, which usually update the minimum wage annually, will not have any increases. The Florida minimum wage remains at $7.25 per hour, with tipped employees entitled to $4.23 per hour. In Missouri, the minimum wage is also $7.25 per hour, while a tipped employee can be paid just $3.64 per hour.
Every employer should prominently display updated minimum wage and employment law posters in the workplace, in a location where they can be seen by all employees.
Washington’s minimum wage is the highest in 2011, while Oregon is in second place. The minimum wages in Connecticut, Illinois and Nevada are tied for third place at $8.25 per hour. However, Nevada employers who offer affordable group health insurance can pay just $7.25 per hour, the same as the federal minimum wage.
The Vermont minimum wage will be sixth highest in 2011 at $8.15 per hour. Massachusetts and California are tied for seventh place at $8.00 per hour. The minimum wage in Alaska is $7.75 while Maine and New Mexico require that employees be paid at least $7.50 per hour. The Rhode Island minimum wage rounds out the top dozen at $7.40 per hour.
In total, 14 states have minimum wages higher than the federal rate of $7.25 per hour, while 26 states have minimum wages the same as the federal minimum wage. Five states have lower minimum wages, while another five have no state minimum wage at all.
The Arizona minimum wage for tipped employees also increases 10 cents from $4.25 to $4.35 per hour on the same date. Arizona includes car wash attendants, hair dressers, barbers, valets and service bartenders as tipped employees, along with waiters, waitresses and busboys. However, if the tipped employees wages and tips do not average at least $7.35 per hour worked (more…)
The Arizona minimum wage applies to permanent, full-time employees, and temporary or part-time workers as well. Arizona has a new minimum wage law, and this marks the first yearly increase due to cost of living under this new law.
The new increase is based on the Consumer Price Index (CPI), which measures the annual inflation rate. Arizona voters supported Proposition 202 on November 7 of 2005. The proposition was called the “Raise the Arizona Minimum Wage for Working Arizonans Act.” This law, A.R.S. 23-364(A) became effective on January 1 of the following year. Authority was given to the Industrial Commission of Arizona (ICA) to enforce the new Act.
The Arizona minimum wage became $6.90 per hour on January 1, 2008. The new law also protects (more…)
The Arizona minimum wage will increase by 35 cents, from $6.90 to $7.25 per hour on January 1, 2009. This is the first annual cost-of-living increase under the new Arizona minimum wage law. The increase is based on the annual inflation rate as reported by the CPI, the Consumer Price Index.
On November 7, 2006, the Arizona voters approved Proposition 202, also known as the “Raise the Arizona Minimum Wage for Working Arizonans Act.” Under A.R.S. 23-364(A), which became effective January 1, 2007, the Industrial Commission of Arizona was given the authority to enforce and implement the Act. Effective January 1, 2008, Arizona’s minimum wage increased to $6.90 per hour.
Every employer covered under the Act is required to pay each employee wages not less than this amount, according to the Industrial Commission of Arizona.Effective January 12, 2008, final Administrative Rules under Title 20, Chapter 5, Article 12 were approved and are currently in effect.
The Arizona minimum wage applies to part-time and temporary workers, as well as full-time permanent workers.
Arizona permits employers to take up to (more…)
Arizona is one of those states, and as of January 1, 2008, Arizona instituted an annual cost-of-living raise. Minimum wage in Arizona is now $6.90, a 15 cent bump from $6.75.
The Industrial Commission of Arizona, as mandated by Arizona’s new Minimum Wage Initiative, is charged with annually adjusting the state’s minimum wage. The Initiative states “The minimum wage shall be increased on January 1, 2008 and on January 1 of successive years by the increase in the cost of living.”
The CPI (Consumer Price Index of All Urban Consumers) for the previous 12 months ending in August provides the basis for the increase. The CPI was 2% for on August 2007, which calculates as a 13.5 cent increase for Arizona’s minimum wage. State law, however, requires any increase to be adjusted to the nearest 5 cents, so instead of a minimum wage of $6.885, the new rate adjusted up to $6.90.
In addition to the Minimum Wage Initiative, Arizona also issued a recent Policy Statement about “hours worked”. According to the Arizona Minimum Wage Act, an employee who works fewer than 24 hours, even if allowed to sleep or do other activities when not busy, is “working” the whole time.
For example, an employer allows a switchboard operator to sleep when not answering calls, and provides facilities for that purpose. The operator is considered to be “working” for state minimum wages while asleep, and the employer is obligated to pay that operator at least that rate.
For firefighters and other employees who work more than 24 hours per shift, the employee and employer collaborate on specific meal and sleep periods. These periods can not add up to over 8 hours per 24 hour period, and the sleep period for the employee must be undisturbed.
Arizona is one of several states that increased the minimum wage in 2008.
The year 2008 has already experienced several changes in state minimum wage laws, and is slated to see several more.
On New Years Day, 2008, Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Iowa, Massachusetts, Missouri, Montana, New Mexico, Ohio, Oregon, Vermont and Washington, fourteen states in all, enacted raises in their state minimum wage rate.
On July 1, 2008, five more states will follow suit. Michigan and Illinois will each raise its state minimum wage by twenty-five cents. Michigan’s will go from $7.15 to $7.40 per hour. Illinois’s will rise from $7.50to $7.75.
Kentucky and West Virginia, will add seventy cents to their minimum wage rates, resulting in new rates of $6.55 per hour and $7.25 per hour, respectively. Pennsylvania workers will enjoy a 90 cent per hour raise to their minimum wage rate, giving them a new minimum of $7.15 per hour.
Later in July, Utah, Oklahoma and a number of other states will establish higher minimum wage rates, too. These states have enacted laws which tie their minimum wage raises to the federal minimum wage. In addition to a number of states that increase the minimum wage, the District of Columbia will, as well. By local law, the D.C. minimum wage must be at least $1.00 more than the federal rate, so it will go to $7.55 on July 24.
Whenever a change occurs in any labor law, employers must update their labor law posters or face the possibility of a fine. Companies are required to display these posters in prominent spots in the employee work area, and to update for both state and federal law changes. Businesses seeking up to date information can visit www.laborlawcenter.com.