The Vermont minimum wage will increase from $8.06 to $8.15 per hour on January 1, 2011. The 9 cent per hour increase is the first since January 1, 2009. This change will require that every Vermont employer update his or her labor law posters.
The Vermont tipped minimum wage increases by 5 cents in 2011, from $4.15 to $4.20 per hour. Under the state law, employees of a hotel, motel, restaurant or tourist place who regularly earn more than $120 per month in tips can be paid (more…)
Under state law, the Vermont minimum wage increases each year based on the cost of living. According to a press release issued by the Vermont Department of Labor, the cost of living fell by 1.5% between September 1, 2008 and August 31, 2009. Because the state law does not permit a decline in the minimum wage, it will remain at the current level until 2011.
“A steady minimum wage reflects our economic times, “ according to Labor Commissioner Patricia Moulton Powden. “The cost of living has fallen and the ability of employers to increase pay is limited by the recession.”
The Vermont minimum wage for tipped employees will also remain stable at $3.91 per hour for employees who earn at least $120 per month in tips for direct, personal service. However, those employees are still entitled to the minimum wage of $8.06 when tips and (more…)
Because of higher than usual inflation, the rate went up more than it normally does in Vermont for 2009. The Vermont minimum wage increased to $8.06 an hour on January 1, 2009. The previous rate was $7.68 an hour.
Like other states, Vermont’s minimum wage laws mandate that if the federal minimum wage is higher than the state level, then the state minimum must be adjusted upward to equal the federal rate. The federal rate will go up to $7.25 an hour in July of 2009, however, so the law is not applicable this year.
In fact, Vermont’s minimum wage is now in the top five nationwide, although still below the highest, Washington State, which is now $8.55 hourly. Oregon follows that, with $8.40 per hour.
The Vermont Department of Labor is the agency charged with enforcing state wage and hour laws. The Department also helps workers collect their unpaid wages. Several labor law posters must be displayed prominently in the workplace. Employers who fail to do so could face fines and other penalties. Among those required posters is the Vermont minimum wage poster. (more…)
On January 1, 2009, the Vermont minimum wage will increase by 38 cents, from $7.68 per hour to $8.06 per hour. This increase puts the Vermont minimum wage in the top five in the nation. The nation’s highest minimum wage is in Washington, at $8.55 per hour in 2009. The second highest minimum wage is in Oregon, at $8.40 per hour.
The Vermont minimum wage for tipped employees increases on January 1, 2009 by 19 cents, from $3.72 per hour to $3.91 per hour. Under state law, this amount applies to “a service or tipped employee.” This is defined as an employee of a hotel, motel, tourist place or restaurant who customarily and regularly receives more than $120 per month in tips. If the employee’s tips plus wages does not average at least the Vermont minimum wage over the pay period, the employer must pay the difference to the employee, in wages.
Every Vermont employer is required to prominently display a number of labor law posters, including the Vermont minimum wage poster. Failure to do so can result in citations, fines and penalties. (more…)
Vermont enacted a law in 2006 to annually increase the state’s minimum wage. On January 1, 2008, the state minimum wage increased 15 cents from $7.53 to $7.68 per hour. The minimum wage for tipped workers increased as well, increasing 7 cents from $3.65 to $3.72 hour.
Several employees are exempt from the Vermont state minimum wage law. Among them are full-time high school students, agricultural workers, cab drivers, newspaper delivery persons, workers in domestic service and some employees of non-profit agencies. Several of these workers are eligible for the federal minimum wage of $5.85 per hour.
Vermont law mandates that a worker who is fired must be given his or her final paycheck within 72 hours. When an employee resigns, the final paycheck should be paid on the next regular payday. If the company has no regular payday, the employer must provide the final paycheck by the following Friday.
Laws regarding the state minimum wage and state overtime are enforced by the Vermont Department of Labor. This department also mandates that employers honor vacation, holiday, sick or severance pay, or any other terms of a written agreement. Child Labor issues and minimum wage complaints are handled by the Vermont Wage and Hour program.
Federal law mandates that when an employee works more than 40 hours in one week, that employee is entitled to pay at 1.5 times the usual hourly rate. The Vermont state minimum wage law requires overtime for more than 40 hours in a week, too. The Vermont law, however, excludes several industries. The transportation industry, service industries, hotels, restaurants and amusement parks are all exempt from paying overtime in Vermont.
A number of states have established their own overtime laws. In states that do not have an overtime law at the state level, such as Delaware and Idaho, workers are often covered by the federal overtime statute. If an employee in a state without overtime laws doesn’t qualify for federal overtime, then that employee isn’t entitled to overtime at all.
The year 2008 has already brought several changes in state minimum wage laws, and is slated for several more.
On New Years Day, 2008, Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Iowa, Massachusetts, Missouri, Montana, New Mexico, Ohio, Oregon, Vermont and Washington, fourteen states in all, enacted raises in their state minimum wage rate.
A number of other minimum wage changes are on the horizon for 2008. On July 1, 2008, five more states will follow suit. Michigan and Illinois will each raise its state minimum wage by twenty-five cents. Michigan’s will go from $7.15 to $7.40 per hour. Illinois’s will rise from $7.50to $7.75.
Five other states will enact less dramatic increases to their minimum wage rates. For example, both Michigan’s and Illinois’s rates will receive a 25 cent bump. The minimum wage in Illinois will increase from $7.50 to $7.75. Michigan’s minimum will be raised from $7.15 to $7.40 per hour.
The July 24, 2008 increase in the federal minimum wage is a result of the Fair Minimum Act of 2007, which President George W. Bush signed into law on May 24, 2006. The Act set up a three step system of increases. The July 24, 2008 bump will be the second step of that system.
In addition a number of states, the District of Columbia ties its minimum wage to the federal minimum. In D. C., however, the law requires the minimum wage rate to be at least $1.00 more per hour than the federal rate. On July 24, 2008, D.C.’s minimum wage will increase to $7.55 per hour.
These changes in the minimum wage law require employers to update their labor law posters, both for their own state laws, and for the federal law changes. Companies seeking updated information can visit www.laborlawcenter.com.