In Arkansas, the change in the federal law in the 1990s also affected the labor law on hiring and reporting new employees as well. So employers in Arkansas, you also have to be up on all of your new hire forms, such as applications, reference check forms, payroll deduction forms, drug testing forms, and anything else that your human resource department might have new hired fill out and sign.
The reason is that the new hire reporting labor law in the state requires employers to provide a good bit of information on their new hires. You have to have handy such information as your federal employer identification number, or FEIN—which you don’t need to get from your new employees, obviously.
But you also need to know the employee’s social security number, their full name (first, middle and last), along with the first date of their hire, their date of birth, and their official state of hire. That last bit of information is important if you’re operating a multistate company and plan to have the employee working in more than one office in more than one state.
In Arkansas, the labor law for new hire reporting has entered the 21st century, allowing employers to file some of this information on new hires by the Internet, or by other electronic reporting methods such as faxes. Otherwise, employers can go the surefire old way of mailing in the new hire report to the state.
However you report your new hires, the labor law in Arkansas follows the basic federal guidelines and requires the info to be sent in no later than 20 days after the hiring. As with some other states, Arkansas offers a slightly different time frame if you do it electronically. Then, you can report your new hires in batches, twice a month, with no more than 16 days between the batches.