Colorado follows the basics of the federal new hire reporting labor laws for the most part. For instance, the state requires that employers submit the names and info for new hires to their State Directory of New Hires, or SDNH, within 20 days after the employee’s date of hire. They have a slight addition to the regulation, though, also saying that employers can get in the information by the first regularly scheduled wage payment after the date of the employee’s hire, if that wage payment date is after the 20 day window.
On the other hand, Colorado has a special clause—though we have also seen it in other states as well, so it’s not that “special”—for employers if you are submitting all of your new hire reports electronically. In that case, you have to send in your new hire reports two times per month, and each reporting cannot be less than 12 days apart and not more than 16 days apart.
Get yourself a trusty human resource calendar for keeping track of days off requests and new hire starting dates, and you shouldn’t have any problem keeping track of all of these time periods and windows in which you have to get your reporting in.
Whatever way you decide to submit your new hire info, you have to send in the same basic info about the employees. You need to supply the name of all of your new hires and re-hires, as well as their address and social security number. Their date of birth is optional, as is the date of their hire. This date of hire, by the way, is officially defined by the state of Colorado labor law as the first day that the employee actually works for you and starts to earn their pay.