Federal labor law reaches you, Kentucky employers, and requires that you have to report some information about all of your newly hired employees, as well as those employees that you would consider re-hired or who have come back to work for you after taking a leave of absence.
As we know from reading my blog … wait, you haven’t been reading my blog? Well, shame on you. But I will complete my last sentence for you. As we should all know from reading my all important blog, the purpose of this new hire reporting is so that the commonwealth of Kentucky can locate parents living and working in the state who owe child support, as well as those workers in the commonwealth of Kentucky who are receiving public assistance and or unemployment insurance and are failing to report it.
To comply with the new hire reporting labor laws, Kentucky employers must report new hires within 20 days after the employee is hired, or 20 days after the employee returns to work after having missed at least 30 days of employment. You don’t have to wait until those 20 days are up. You can report new hires anytime in that window of time.
Of course, as we have seen from reading my blog—or should have seen!—employers who file these new hire reports electronically have a different time frame to work with. They must report new hires within 12 to 16 days after the new hire starts or an employee returns to work after missing more than 30 days on the job. You can’t report them electronically before those 12 days, nor after the 16 days.
And in the commonwealth of Kentucky, the law doesn’t force you to report either by paper or electronically, but state officials do recommend and request that employers file electronically.