The labor law of the land in Mississippi when it comes to new hire reporting is called law 43-19-46. And wait, there is a second one called 93-11-01, both put out by the Mississippi General Assembly and put into effect in October of 1998. And what’s the labor law over truly all of the land? That would have to be the federal Personal Responsibility and Work Opportunity Reconciliation Act, or PRWORA, from 1996.
These labor laws, my loyal readers, and their variants from state to state, have been the topic of discussion here on this blog all week. One the reasons—they tell human resource departments and employers how they must report each and every new hire they bring into their organization. What’s another reason I’m bringing it up? These labor laws reinforce all of my previous mentions on my blog, from last month and beyond, about how important it is to keep organized within your organization when it comes to all of the files and forms you must have on storage for every employee.
In Mississippi, those labor laws mentioned above requires that all employers report their new hires within 15 days of their first day on the job. If you are disorganized, do you think you’ll be able to make that reporting on time?
If not, you could end up with a penalty of $25 per new hire that you failed to report on time. What’s worse, if the government detects some sort of purpose behind your failed reporting—some sort of conspiracy between you and the new employee even—they can fine you $500 per employee.
Don’t believe me? Just look up the information on Mississippi’s government Web site, or any state’s Web site on new hire reporting for that matter. They all follow the same basic guidelines set up by the federal rule.