In New York, the new hire reporting labor laws are all about the receipt of child support payments, too, as it is with all the states in the Union. The New York State Department of Taxation and Finance runs the show in the Empire State, and requires its employers to send in information on all of their new hirings. This regulation came about thanks to Chapter 81 of the Laws of 1995, which started to be in effect for all employees hired after March 1, 1996.
After the federal government came out with its own laws on new hire reporting in 1996, New York state had to revise its law to meet the federal requirements—hence, the Chapter 398 of the Laws of 1997 in the state of New York, which kicked into effect October 1, 1997.
Basically, the labor laws on the topic follow the same logic as laws we have seen in other states. The New York officials require all employers to report to the New York Department of Taxation and Finance certain information about all new hires or rehires. In the case of New York, the employer-employee relationship is simply determined: do you have to file a tax withholding document for the employee with the Internal Revenue Service? Yes. Then you also have to file a new hire report on them as well.
New York gives its employees 20 days to do so, from the hiring date of the new employee. On the other hand, if you are reporting your new hires by electronic or by magnetic tape, then you have to report all new hires in two month batches, which have to be somewhere between 12 and 16 days apart. The day to use as the employee’s “first day” is the day that they first actually are working for money for you.