In Wisconsin, they consider a new hire to start employment as soon as the offer of employment is made, or when the person actually shows up for work. The term “newly hired employee” is used in the state as soon as the person shows up for work on that first day. So in other words, if you offer somebody a job but they never show up for their first day, then you don’t have to report them as a new hire to your company.
On the other hand, if the employee gets your job offer, shows up for that first day, but then doesn’t make it more than 2 hours on the job before you fire them or they quit, you would still have to report them as a new hire.
This includes new hires that may only be temporary employees. In Wisconsin, you have to report them as well. The only exclusion to this is if you get them from a temporary agency and the temp agency pays them for you. Then in that instance, you don’t have to report them as new hires. The temp agency should.
Also included in the scope of this labor law on new hire reporting in Wisconsin are re-hires, or people that used to work for your company but left because they were laid off, fired, quit, or for any other reason stopped working—but then you hired them back. The cut off for re-hires is 90 days without pay. That means if an employee hasn’t been gone from your company for more than 90 days, then you don’t have to report them as a new re-hire.
For all of these types of employees, you have to report their names, their addresses, and their social security numbers. The new hires’ date of birth is optional, but the state of Wisconsin strongly recommends that employers provide that as well.
Sounds like a lot of confidential data that you are passing along? It is, but the state of Wisconsin and their federal counterparts are confident that they can protect the data because access to it is highly restricted.