Cal/OSHA Seatbelt Initiative Receives Nationwide Attention

[caption id="attachment_14048" align="alignleft" width="193"] Both CalOSHA and the federal OSHA emphasize that delivery drivers should wear seatbelts when in the vehicle.[/caption] Sometimes the simplest safety measures are the trickiest to implement on a consistent basis – like having delivery drivers wear seatbelts. Because delivery drivers are constantly getting into and out of the vehicle, many see the seatbelt as a useless nuisance. If you are an employer who hires drivers, take a few moments right now to remind them that it’s not just company policy to wear seatbelts every single time – it’s also the smart thing to do. (If you’re an employee who drives at work, buckle up – we want you back here again!) Tragically, Cal/OSHA recently cited Menzies Aviation for a fatal accident at LAX that was entirely preventable, if only the employee had been wearing his seat belt. The state worker safety agency found that not only did the company not require employees to use seat... More...

Posted in , Comments 0

Oregon Minimum Wage Increase 2015

[caption id="attachment_14045" align="alignleft" width="300"] Effective January 1, 2015 the Oregon minimum wage increases to $9.25 per hour for both tipped and non-tipped employees.[/caption] Effective January 1, 2015 the Oregon minimum wage increases 15 cents, to $9.25 per hour. That’s $2.00 per hour more than the federal minimum wage, but still less than the 2014 Washington state minimum wage of $9.32 per hour. The OR minimum wage for tipped employees is also $9.25 per hour, since the state does not allow employers to take a tip credit. Oregon is one of about a dozen states that increase the minimum wage annually, based on the cost of living. The Oregon minimum wage increase is based on the federal Consumer Price Index or CPI released by the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. Oregon labor and Industries Commissioner Brad Avakian estimates that this change will pump $25 million into the economy in consumer spending, since low-paid workers are unlikely to be in a position... More...

Texas Launches Veterans Services Programs

[caption id="attachment_14039" align="alignleft" width="283"] Texas launches new veterans services program to assist in the job search.[/caption] With Veterans Day approaching, the Texas Workforce Commission (TWC) provides a number of services to men and women in uniform who are returning to the workforce under the Texas Veterans Leadership Program or TVLP. According to TWC, the Veterans Resource & Referral Specialists are veterans of Iraq, Afghanistan or both who can guide returning veterans through the employment maze to secure their next job. The TWC provides key training and employment-related services including assessment, training, case management, life skills training, education and career planning. Veterans receive priority service from the TWC on all facets of employment guidance and assistance. In particular, the TWC puts a two-day hold on new job postings in WorkInTexas.com, to ensure that TX veterans have access to them first. The program also provides integration with WorkInTexas.com and VetCentral, the federal veteran’s employment portal. With 28 workforce development boards statewide, the... More...

New Hampshire Minimum Wage Update

[caption id="attachment_14037" align="alignleft" width="276"] In 2011, New Hampshire essentially repealed the state minimum wage law in favor of the federal minimum wage.[/caption] Since 2011, the New Hampshire Minimum wage has been pegged at the same rate as the federal minimum wage, currently $7.25 per hour. New Hampshire is unique among states in that it used to have a state minimum wage higher than the federal rate, but essentially eliminated it effective August 21, 2011. New Hampshire also does not have an overtime law at the state level, meaning workers are entitled to overtime only if they are covered under the federal FLSA or the Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938. Five U.S. states have never had a minimum wage at the state level: Mississippi, Alabama, Louisiana, Tennessee and South Carolina. In addition, three states have minimum wages that are lower than the federal minimum wage: Arkansas, Georgia and Wyoming. A handful of states allow very small employers to pay lower... More...

Get More Labor Law Information